The CREST/UN Environment forum served as both a recognition of the UN’s Year of Sustainable Tourism for Development and a thought-provoking discourse on the state of responsible travel at this crucial time in history. Accordingly, we gathered together an all-star team of sustainable-travel thought leaders and practitioners, among them the august members of this event’s Honorary Host Committee. Those members were:

  • Jessica Blotter, CEO and co-founder, Kind Traveler
  • Geoff Bolan, CEO, Sustainable Travel International
  • Denaye Hinds, director of sustainability, OBM International
  • Andrea Holbrook, president & CEO, Holbrook Travel
  • Matthew Jeffery, deputy director, International Alliances Program, National Audubon Society
  • Kelley Louise, executive director, Travel+Social Good
  • Ella Messerli, general manager, Hotel El Ganzo
  • Hannah Messerli, chair, International Institute of Tourism Studies, The George Washington University
  • Kathleen Pessolano, destinations program director, Global Sustainable Tourism Council
  • Mike Robbins, founding partner, The Tourism Company
  • Jim Sano, vice president of travel, tourism, and conservation, World Wildlife Fund
  • Jonathan Tourtellot, director, Destination Stewardship Center
  • Dan Whittle, senior attorney and senior director, Cuba Program, Environmental Defense Fund
  • Chiara Zuccarino-Crowe, tourism and recreation coordinator, National Marine Sanctuary Foundation with NOAA’s Office of National Marine Sanctuaries